3e6819c32ef00b0a1a18e0f2b6ad06fd
Subscribe today
© 2025 Barossa Leader

Is this where Barossa began?

4 min read

A river red gum at Lyndoch is growing a renewed effort to receive heritage listing, thanks to what some locals say is compelling evidence it was the very site where Colonel William Light camped at and sketched during his first 1837 expedition into Lyndoch - and ultimately the Barossa.

Light's diary references a four-day camp in the shade of a large tree at the place he named "Lindock Vale," and a...


Top Stories
To read the full story, subscribe to Barossa Leader .
Click here to view our subscription options.